Sephiroth Tastes Beautiful….

….according to the folks at Game Watch, who got to sneak a wee sip of the ‘potion’ that Square Enix are giving away as part of the limited-edition 10th anniversary commemorative release of Final Fantasy VII.  Old news I know, but since FFVII was the first Square title I gave more than a passing nod to, I just had to mention it.  The set will also include a book entitled Final Fantasy VII 10th Anniversary Ultimania, as reported by Japan News Review. According to the guys at Game Watch, the ‘potion’ is said to contain some pretty funky ingredients, and is inspired by Cloud’s adversary Sephiroth. Call me a cynic if you will, but this seems a missed opportunity in terms of Square’s choice of items to include in the package; I would have opted for a replica materia orb, or maybe some tokens redeemable at the Golden Saucer, but I guess we’ll have to make do with this rather poor attempt to exploit a previous arrangement with Suntory, manufacturers of the ‘potion’. The vial that the potion comes in does look pretty cool, although I hope it’s made of glass and not plastic. The report doesn’t indicate if the set will be available outside of Japan.

Secondly, I just wanted to throw my two cents in and show my support for Flynn DeMarco and the rest of the folks at gaygamer.net, whose site was taken down over the weekend by hosting company Go Daddy after a DoS (Denial of Service) attack – rather than try and write some wordy, romanticized “gaming should transcend boundaries” kind of post, I’ll just say that I’m glad you guys are back online, and that your attitude towards the whole thing was most commendable – nice one, guys.

Add to Technorati Favorites

 Subscribe in a reader

2 Comments

Filed under misc.

2 responses to “Sephiroth Tastes Beautiful….

  1. Marcus

    Man… it contains dolomite, how good could it possibly taste??

Leave a Reply

